Home > Thinking Out Loud > Flip Flops in March: a Newcomer Settles into the South

Flip Flops in March: a Newcomer Settles into the South

January 20, 2010

For this and other feature articles, visit us at our new home! http://www.carolinalifestyles.com/

Carolina Lifestyles is pleased to introduce Erin, who will be blogging about her life in Charlotte from time to time.

When we arrived in Charlotte just over two years ago, I didn’t really know what to expect.  My family and I had lived in four different states in the past seven years, moving from Colorado to Wisconsin, then to Pennsylvania, and now to North Carolina.  The first three places had their own unique qualities, to be sure, but Charlotte was a whole new ball game.  Different weather, different accents, different career for my husband.  A lot less small-town familiarity, and a lot more traffic.  Less Steelers fans . . . well, not that many less!  I found that different can be good.  No more parkas–and the unexpected pleasure of flip-flops in March.

I’ll give up a few Terrible Towels for my flip-flops, any day!

We jumped right in, joining clubs, gyms, and preschools.  I’m not sure how, but I managed to get a nice balance of “old Charlotte” and newcomers in my little world.  Enough newbies to talk with about the old days “up north,” and enough natives to feel I’m in the South.

Given my lifelong history of moving around, I’m pretty good at being the new kid.  Charlotte, though, was an experience unlike any I had encountered previously.  There were so many of us new kids!  Fortunately, I didn’t run into anybody who felt they already had enough friends.  We discovered amazing things only found in Charlotte.  Things like Price’s Chicken Coop.  I could list more singular places, but really, what can top Price’s?

I know my story is not unique, given Charlotte’s recent years of massive growth.  What is different for me, however, is that we have been here over two years, and I’m not looking for my map.  No escape plans are swirling around in my head.  Charlotte is pretty awesome for where I am right now. I find I have grown accustomed to life here.

The small things explain how I have eased into my life in this Southern city. I recently remarked on how chilly it was (while wearing a scarf) when the temperature hit 50.  And if you listen closely, you might even hear a “y’all” sneak out.

More here about Price’s Chicken Coop, a Charlotte tradition:

http://www.wsoctv.com/station/16667132/detail.html

  1. Suzanna
    January 21, 2010 at 9:21 am

    “What is different for me, however, is that we have been here over two years, and I’m not looking for my map.”

    So maybe there is hope for me here. I’m usually looking for my map as the moving van pulls away! Thanks for the hopeful signs.

  2. Erin
    January 21, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    I’m glad it gave you hope, Suzanna! It’s surprising how easy it has been to settle in here. My best days here are when I discover something new and unexpected. Keep checking back at CarolinaLifestyles, as there are lots of review of local spots. I hope to add some as I continue exploring!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
