Home > Carolina Shortcut Chef > Oyster Dressing

Oyster Dressing

November 22, 2009

One of my Aunts made the most delicious oyster dressing imaginable.  Sadly, no one seems to have saved her recipe.  She died decades ago.  I have been attempting to recreate her delicious oyster dressing for nearly 30 years.

This is close to my Aunt’s memorable dressing recipe.  I have made it using 2 cups of oysters and 6 cups of bread crumbs, and that worked well, too.  I have attempted making it with canned oysters (okay, we admit that was desperation at work, and I do not suggest this method to anyone else!)

Oyster Dressing

Ingredients:

1 T olive oil

1 cu chopped onions

1 cup chopped celery

8 cups dried bread crumbs

3 cups oysters (reserve liqueur)

3 eggs, beaten

1 1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp ground black pepper

1 tsp. poultry seasoning

1/2 tsp. thyme

1/2 tsp. rosemary

Method:

Preheat oven to 235 degrees.  Spray Pam in a 2 quart or larger casserole dish.

Heat the oil in a large skillet using medium heat. Lightly cook celery and onion until tender; mix in bread crumbs. Remove from heat.  Add oysters, eggs and seasonings.  Stir in the oyster liqueur, to moist mixture. You may not need it all.  Mix thoroughly.

Place mixture in casserole dish.  Bake for about 45 minutes, or until knife inserted in center comes out clean.

Enjoy!

©Carolina Shortcut Chef
Here is a variation on Oyster Dressing from Paula Deen.  My recipe is based on Savannah-style oyster dressing, and Paula’s is very similar.  She includes corn bread with hers, and I think that is a wonderful way to use left over cornbread.  I have substituted some bread crumbs with cornbread in the past and like the texture. Paula uses sage and I am not fond of sage in my oyster dressing.

http://www.hulu.com/watch/43775/paulas-home-cooking-easy-oyster-dressing?c=Food-and-Leisure/Entertaining

