Home > Carolina Shortcut Chef > Lemon Chess Pie

Lemon Chess Pie

November 21, 2009

Lemon Chess Pie recipes are abundant these days. It seems this old-fashioned pie has had a resurgence in the last few years.  Twenty years ago, few  people (other than Southerners) had ever sampled any type of chess pie.

I have made chocolate chess pies as well as plain chess pie and lemon chess pie.  This recipe is fool-proof and so I continue to return to this simple recipe, as my family enjoys it and it is easy to prepare.

Be sure to put on the coffee or expresso before cutting the pie!  The delicious lemon flavor is excellent when accompanied by expresso, especially.

Lemon Chess Pie

Ingredients

4 eggs

1 1/2 cups sugar

Dash of salt

Deep Dish pie crust, unbaked (I use Pet Ritz)

Juice of 2 large lemons (or 3 small lemons)

Grated rind of 1 lemon

3 T. melted butter

Method

Beat eggs slightly. Add sugar, butter and lemon juice to eggs and beat well. Beat well. Stir in lemon rind and salt. Pour into baked pie shell.

Bake at 350 degrees for 25 to 30 minutes or until set.

Let cool well before cutting.  I prefer my lemon chess pie cold.  I make this pie a day ahead and remove from the fridge right before serving.  It will be easier to cut that way.

You can double the recipe for two pies, which is often what I do when having a group.

©Carolina Shortcut Chef

For fun, we are including a lemon chess pie recipe, which is ostensibly from former President, Bill Clinton.  I have made a very similar recipe in the past.  If you want to serve a “celebrity” lemon chess pie recipe, here’s the recipe and photo:

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/bill-clintons-lemon-chess-pie/Detail.aspx

