Home > Carolina Shortcut Chef > Corn Pudding

Corn Pudding

November 19, 2009

Your Thanksgiving menu isn’t quite complete without a delicious corn pudding.  I started experimenting with corn pudding recipes in the 80s.  I have found many different recipes along the way, including one from Middleton Place Plantation in Charleston, SC, which I have not been able to locate since I last moved.  (Anyone have that recipe? I would like to have it for historic context, even if I don’t use it again).  I have adapted several recipes after trying perhaps a dozen different methods, and this is my favorite corn pudding recipe.  I have been making this one for about 15 years.

For those purists who don’t want to use canned products, I have substituted 3-10 ounce packages of frozen corn in this recipe in the past.  Be sure to cook the corn per instructions on the bag/box before assembling the pudding.  Personally, I think the canned corn creates a better dish.

Southern Style Corn Pudding

Ingredients

2-15.25 oz. cans whole kernel corn

1-15 oz can creamed corn

4 T sugar

4 T all-purpose flour

1/2 cup half-and-half

5 eggs

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

Method

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Combine all the corn, sugar, flour, milk, eggs and nutmeg. Mix well.

Spray pam in a souffle dish or deep casserole dish.

Bake at 350 d. for at least one hour.  Settings can vary a bit from oven to oven, so you may need to keep the pudding in longer than an hour.  My oven requires I keep it in for about 1 hr. and 20 minutes.  The center will be firm when it is ready to remove from the oven and the color will be slightly golden.

I like to sprinkle a tiny bit of nutmeg on top of the pudding before serving.  It is best if you use a shaker of some sort to do this, as you will only want the faintest bit of nutmeg on top. Or, if you have a nutmeg grater and whole nutmeg, grate a small amount of nutmeg as a topping.  The idea is to enhance the corn, not overwhelm it with nutmeg!

This pudding is, to me, a souffle.  I had the misfortune of too many cooks in the kitchen on one occasion, and the repeated opening/shutting of the oven door made the souffle “fall.”  So do this at the end of your meal prep and make sure no one is opening and closing the oven.  If you have other dishes to heat in the oven, use a warming drawer and prepare those dishes ahead.  You do not want this pudding to be disturbed before you are ready to serve your guests!

I have a large Nesco oven I use for my turkey.  That way, my oven is free for any casseroles and bread that I need to bake.  I also have additional hot plates and electric warming trays, and I place aluminum foil covered casseroles on warming trays til time to serve the meal. I also use at least one chafing dish, which is yet another way to keep side dishes warm before serving.

If you’ve never prepared a meal for a large gathering, you will need to have an “attack plan” so that all your dishes are at the right temperature–and are ready to serve–at the appointed time.  I will post my method  in case this may help others who haven’t served a large Thanksgiving dinner before.

©Carolina Shortcut Chef

More seasonal ideas and photo can be found here:

http://ivoryspring.wordpress.com/2009/10/22/what-goes-on-my-fall-table/

